Morphine: A Constant

Constant:

1.0 Occurring continuously over a period of time 

1.2 Remaining the same over a period of time 

1.3 Unchangingly faithful and dependable 

Throughout my short life you’ve been there.

A Constant 

We came together accidentally, but you have stayed with me.

Constantly 

That first hit, doesn’t have the same feeling as the last.

Gone 

 

Morphine: A painkiller

Morphine: An analgesic and narcotic drug

Morphine: A painkiller

Morphine: A constant

 

Pain is subjective, yet it can be

Constant 

Pain can be physically in the body, or figuratively in the mind

But constant 

“My friend,” he said, “I’ll help you, the pain will be

Gone.” 

 

Morphine: A painkiller

Morphine: An analgesic and narcotic drug

Morphine: A painkiller

Morphine: A constant

 

For a time you helped keep me sane,

Almost constantly 

I worked, and I pushed, all to get you,

Constantly 

“You have a problem,” my friends said, “he needs to be

Gone.” 

 

Morphine: A painkiller

Morphine: An analgesic and narcotic drug

Morphine: A painkiller

Morphine: A constant

 

Almost daily, you reminded me of your existence:

Your name spread on social media,

Your name spread across newspapers,

And on televisions.

 

I need you,

Constantly 

I crave what you bring me,

Constantly 

I can’t function, now that you’re

Gone. 

 

Morphine: A painkiller

Morphine: An analgesic and narcotic drug

Morphine: A painkiller

Morphine: A constant

 

Nose bleeds, headaches, spasms,

All constantly 

Twitching as I struggled to focus,

Constantly 

I can’t function, now you’re

Gone. 

Cold turkey, withdrawal symptoms,

Seemingly constant

Family and friends at my bedside,

Definitely constant 

You?

Gone 

 

Morphine: A painkiller

Morphine: An analgesic and narcotic drug

Morphine: A painkiller

Morphine: A constant

 

Almost daily you remind me of your existence:

Your name spread on social media,

Your name spread across newspapers,

And on televisions.

 

I feel like I still need you,

Constantly 

I still crave what you used to bring me,

Constantly 

But I’ve learnt to function now you’re

Gone.

 

Morphine: A painkiller

Morphine: An analgesic and narcotic drug

Morphine: A painkiller

Morphine: Gone.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

